Oaxaca's Tourist Guide
Oaxaca's Tourist Guide


HOME » General Information

The State of Oaxaca | A Bit of History | The Oaxaca Valley |

The State of Oaxaca

Oaxaca State is located in the south-east portion of Mexico. It is bounded in the north by Veracruz and Puebla, in the east by Chiapas, in the west by Guerrero and in the south by the Pacific Ocean.

The name of Oaxaca comes from the Nahuatl word Huayacac. Its roots are Huaxin (kind of acacia) and Yacalt (peak, edge, top), top of the acacias.

King Carlos V of Spain elevated Oaxaca to the rank of "City" in 1532.

Currently, it has 244,727 inhabitants and 3,224,270 people are living all over the state.

Its territorial extension of 59,125 miles (95,364 KM) comprises the 4.85% of the entire country. It has more than 3 million of inhabitants.

It is 1,550 meters over the sea level with a yearly average temperature of 29,3°C (maximum) and 12,5°C (minimum).

The weather varies a lot because of the irregular surface of the soil. It is hot and dry in the coastal area near the Pacific; humid and hot in the Pacific Coast; and it varies in the Sierra Madre, being mild in the rest of the State and cold in areas with an altitude higher than 2,000 meters above sea level.

Oaxaca de Juárez City, capital of the State, is located in the center of the central district of the State, among the north parallel of latitude 15°42' and 18°22' and the east longitude 3°42' and 16°14' in the Mexican meridian.

In general, Oaxaca has a mild weather during the year:
- Spring 25°C.
- Summer 22°C.
- Autumn 22°C.
- Winter 16°C.

Back to TopBack to Top